Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

One of the most conspicuous trends in today's world is teenagers playing video games instead of playing in the outdoors. Many parents are worried with the decline in daily exercise and cognitive skills. As such, there are both merits and demerits for this trend, this essay will explain the drawbacks of this development and explain them in detail. Firstly, students have a lot of leisure time and playing interactive computer games can kill boredom. In addition, youngsters have the tendency to accept the challenge and break personal records and this is the major reason for virtual gaming addiction. For instance, a recent survey suggests that to gain instant fame and easy money console games is the easiest option available. Needless to say, to challenge opponents and to create personal records without physical stain are the reasons for gaming addiction. Secondly, there are some pitfalls that can overwhelm the potential benefits of this trend. Most of the parents are worried about their children's decline in daily physical activities and social cognitive abilities. Moreover, virtual reality has been taken over by augmented reality and every individual enjoys the virtual gaming more interactive compared to the physical games. For example, console games like Xbox and PlayStation are increasing in demand after introducing virtual games. Hence, young students are more attracted to console games and enjoy the creativity of designing their own games and rules. In conclusion, one can clearly understand that innovations in gaming have gone from reality to Virtuality and this leads to decline in socializing skills in peer school goers. Finally, the role of virtual reality is too dire to ignore in this trend.