Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is often believed that soaring prices of petrol are the most feasible solution for dealing with problems such as rise in traffic congestion on roads and pollution. This essay does not agree with the given statement, and discusses the reasons for disagreement, followed by providing the viable solutions to solve these issues. Firstly, with a hike in the prices of basic needs, people would still consume. Petrol is required for daily transits, since it is essential, people will compromise on other purchases rather than refraining themselves to purchase fuel. Moreover, the increase in costs will not affect people from middle or high class background. Statistics have proven that throughout the world, though the fuel cost is hitting the records, the consumption never shows decline. Although the above is not a promising solution, it is possible to reduce the number of cars on the streets by improving public transport and encouraging pooling cabs system. People who commute to work, prefer own vehicles due to uncertain timings or discomfort, therefore, if governments can invest in building infrastructure and facilities to cater to all needs, people will use the bus and metro facilities. Also, nowadays on online platforms, it is possible to hire cabs, so instead of travelling alone, one can pool service with other passengers that will reduce the number of cabs driven in the region. In conclusion, Rising amounts of fuel is not an answer to address serious issues of congestion and contamination. To fight with such concerns, the governments and people should consciously make an effort to change the society. With built infrastructure and effective use of the available services, it is possible to overcome the above damaging effects.