Increased longevity has led to many people living well beyond age 65. in what ways society can benefit from the contribution of older people.

The senior citizen can play a fundamental role in the development of the upcoming generation of society in several ways, such as; younger people can acquire knowledge from seniors' valuable life experiences. Additionally, older people devote their time to helping needy, and seniors can help boost the country's economy directly and indirectly. The aged people have a wealth of experience which they contribute to society because of their ability to pass on the education to the younger generation. As in many instances, young people are not aware of the consequences of their actions; the aged can contribute with their knowledge and from their life experiences, which minimize the risk which the younger generation might have due to their limited knowledge and experience. Many aged people can devote their time and, they prefer to serve as volunteer guest speakers for schools, colleges, and some higher education institutions. Additionally, they also volunteer their time to the various charitable organizations and devote their time to fundraising fairs to help needy people such as for food banks. According to the Australian statistics bureau that in Australia, almost 30% of over 65 years old dwellers volunteered their time to different charitable organization trust and educational centres. Older people make a significant contribution to any country's economy directly or indirectly. According to research, some European companies benefit from one million pounds per year because of the decision taken by their finance committee, which comprises people aged from 65 to 70 yrs. The indirect contribution is, many older people are taking care of the grandchildren, thereby there children can work more than before which is the indirect benefit to the country's economy and, also save the family earning by not paying to the daycare centre. The positive contribution of the senior citizens is priceless toward society, like educating the upcoming generation and helping the growth of the nation's economy.