Some people think that arts (for example music or painting) don’t directly improve people’s wellbeing and therefore the government should spend money on other things.

It is commonly thought that governmental funds should be directed to other spheres rather than the art field, as the latter does not ameliorate people’s welfare. In my opinion, I believe that benefits reaped from any kind of art exposures are indispensable both for society and artists, and therefore this domain is likely to be subsidized. One key reason irrevocably tied to allocation of funds for arts is cultural legacy gained for the public. In other words, not only do people become well-rounded while attending art exhibitions and concerts, but they also preserve their cultural heritage for further generations in the long run. Were it not for funding art sphere, people may become indifferent to their culture, which may result in the loss of national inheritance. A prime example is Italy, where due to a regular fundraising the art sphere, Italian society becomes incomparable in preserving their masterpieces and raising culturally orientated generations. Yet another reason to finance arts is a golden opportunity for artists to be motivated in creating masterpieces. As the more they are supported by local authorities, the higher is their urge to expand their artistic skills. In stark contrast, knowing that irrespective of their efforts, they still will not be appreciated by the government, young artists are likely to sacrifice their interests and find themselves in other occupations. For instance, having carried out a research scientists revealed that in Armenia the vast majority of Art Academy alumni change their professions after several years of self-employment, because of the lack of governmental support, which in turn causes the loss of new talents. In conclusion, I am convinced that financing arts must be the top priority for the governmental budget, as it is part and parcel in generating caring society in terms of preserving arts and culture. Besides that, this will encourage artists to apply their abilities to the fullest, thus nurturing new talents.