ies, while being on good terms with colleagues is not crucial. Although I agree that being productive at work is more important than trying to befriend all colleagues, I think that it is advantageous to have at least a few friends in the workplace.

It is commonly argued that the primary goal of every employee is to focus on his/her job duties, while being on good terms with colleagues is not crucial. Although I agree that being productive at work is more important than trying to befriend all colleagues, I think that it is advantageous to have at least a few friends in the workplace. On the one hand, maintaining good relations with all co-workers is often hard and even counter-productive. Firstly, it is very emotionally demanding to forge friendships in the office. It is almost impossible to cater for every colleague’s needs and interests, be nice even with people who irritate you, and make friends under stressful conditions. Moreover, sometimes it is wiser to eschew the niceties of interaction in favor of productivity. For instance, if all people were trying to build good relationships with everyone in their workplace, much less work would be done. On the other hand, there are many compelling reasons to get closer to our colleagues. First of all, it is very beneficial to build warm relationships with those who surround you most of the time. Many full-time employees spend more of their waking hours with co-workers than they do with their families. And thus, people who have a few friends in their offices are usually happier than their solitary peers. Secondly, good interpersonal relations result in an improved teamwork. It is not a secret that team members who like and respect each other tend to collaborate on a project more effectively.