Having too many old people, is it right for the society to take care of them and what can we do to reduce the number.

'There is no doubt that a healthy nation is a wealthy nation' so to say. Older people are ubiquitous nowadays and I believe that with communal effort, they can be well taken care of. In addition to discussing the forms that the society can care for this aged group, measures to mitigate the number of vulnerable will be elucidated in this essay. First of all, one of the strategies to ensure that the society has the number of aged people in check is to provide health insurance policies. Ensuring a standard health care system will go a long way in promoting longevity, such as, free consultation by a geriatricians, free meals while on hospital admission, access to prescribed drugs since most of them are prone to chronic diseases; like hypertension, rheumatoid arthritis, insomnia, amnesia and many more. In addition, enhancing quality medical care won't just prolong life but also reduce the aging process. Furthermore, the government should make certain that pensionable staff are paid as when due without delay while incentives are made available for all the vulnerable. In some developing countries, funds for annuity are being borrowed by state authorities for running the nation at the detriment of the seniors' care consequently postponement of allowance. For example, in my neighbourhood, there lived a 76 years old man without relatives along with has not been paid for the past 2 years. Life was so difficult for him at one point he prayed for death. petitions were written by the village chairman to the state government on his behalf, months later he received payment with joy and was able to live happily again. In conclusion, it doesn't matter the number of elderly seen, the key thing is to make sure they are healthy and well taken care of because they are the upholders of our culture and one day, we will walk in their shoes.