In today's world, internet is used in tasks which were previously done in person (banking, shopping etc. ). Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Ever since its existence, the invention of the internet has had a profound impact on our lives. The Internet has become an integral and indispensable resource for our daily lives and is being used by and large for most of our daily tasks today. I strongly believe that its increased utility has resulted in more drawbacks than benefits. One of the most significant disadvantages of this trend is that it has made individuals less social in their daily lives. The loss of social cohesion has resulted in lesser human interactions, as digital screens have become their handy partners. Back when online shopping was not routinely preferred, people used to visit shopping areas with their friends and family, spending quality time together on the contrary today's shopping has become more of one-to-one interaction with an inanimate object, supported by the internet. Another crucial fact is the risks of phishing attacks on people who use the internet for managing their financial interests. Today, people are increasingly using net banking for all their banking needs. Consequently, incidents of cyber-attacks and unauthorized transactions are on a rise each day. Thus, people are under the threat of loss of privacy and security too. While of its disadvantages, the internet's use in various tasks has also some advantages. Firstly, the internet has turned to become a time-saving technology with its easy operational and effective abilities. An individual, for instance, had to wait in long queues to clear his account passbook and check the financial transactions made by him but now, it has become a matter of few clicks and he is well aware of everything he needs. Additionally, the growth in usage of the internet for daily needs has also proven to become environmentally friendly. This is because, the internet essentially conserves trees by evading the role of paper in bills and ledgers, which are of great use in the banking and shopping sectors. In conclusion, the dependence on the internet in today's world has posed larger drawbacks, which are important to be considered than the advantages. Moreover, the reliance on the internet should be thought of by the people as a support, not a necessity for completing chores.