In the working environment, it is common for managers to grant their workers bonuses if they make a breakthrough for the company. While some staffs believe this policy is imperative to the efficiency enhancement, others claim that it hinders the overall working experience.

In the working environment, it is common for managers to grant their workers bonuses if they make a breakthrough for the company. While some staffs believe this policy is imperative to efficiency enhancement, others claim that it hinders the overall working experience. From my perspective, besides this method that has both upside and downside, there are also alternative methods to accelerate the working progress. It is apparent that offering extra money raises the spirit of all workers. As someone is rewarded due to their hard work, the other staffs are determined to finish their job in order to achieve the same success. As a result, the job flow is tremendously improved, which is crucial for the company’s development. However, the path to pay raises usually contains fierce competition rather than collaboration. Since greediness is an innate feature of any human being, it is not unusual for workers to start sabotaging their colleagues so that only one person is able to receive the bonus. For instance, office workers tend to delete or distort their partners’ current files with a view to eliminating them from the race of obtaining the reward. As such, there are many other solutions that might be more effective than just bonuses. The first measure is to emphasize the essence of cooperation between workers, which can be done by providing missions that involve teamwork. It is this factor that enables staff to not only eagerly complete their job but also form new relationships. Research has shown that people who work solitarily are more likely to be discouraged than those who are accompanied by their colleagues. Additionally, creating a relaxing environment is extremely indispensable to encourage workers. Working areas like Google and Facebook whose rulesets establish a comfortable atmosphere are much-needed to stimulate people to work with their maximum effort. To summarize, despite its benefit, the bonus method can be detrimental when it goes out of control; therefore, it should be utilized in conjunction with other options. This management policy is still popular in the modern world, and fortunately, it is well-used so far.