In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

The pursuit of knowledge is a concept that is valued by mist cultures In the 21st century, we now have many more options regarding how and where to link that knowledge. II you are a French national, you can apply to du an economics degree in the USA and likewise an American citizen can take a course in linguistics in France Indeed most universities across the world now have a good proportion of foreign students enrolled in their programmes. Certainly, there are numerous advantages of studying in a diferent country. Many students choose to do this because they know that a particular university, for instance Stanford Business School has an excellent reputation. Graduating from here they believe, will increase their chances of securing a decent position in a company back home. Students studying abroad also have the opportunity to form friendships with people of various nationalities: in time. these may develop into useful professional networks. Furthermore living far from family and friends can enable young people to become more independent and self-sufficient Unfortunately, the experience of studying abroad is not always a positive one Research suggests that a small percentage of young people struggle to adapt to their new environment and sulfer from severe culture shock. The situation can become worse il the student is not mature enough to cope by themselves. Different approaches to teaching and learning may also come as an unwelcome surprise to some students In essence, the key 10 a good experience at a foreign university is a open mind a student is presented with this opportunity they should certainly seize if.