In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant experience.

In the past, educational opportunities were limited to studying in one's own country. This was due to lack of financial resources, knowledge about the world outside the country. There were few individuals during the past days who could afford abroad education but most were still not able to achieve it. The 90's brought with it the trend of globalisation. Countries across the globe opened up its economy for other countries to invest in terms of education and employment. Globalisation gave young students a chance to pursue higher education in the West. Though pursuing higher education abroad is expensive, yet there is availability of numerous financial assistance in terms of scholarships and loans. A degree from a foreign university opens up plethora of opportunities for that individual in their own nation. This means that they can expect higher pay package compared to ones who graduated from their own country. The way in which education system works abroad can be varied and different from their motherland. There is a generous number of scope for research in the West especially United States, United Kingdom and Europe. People from the East like to stay back in the West as there is scope for improvement in research for them. The drawbacks of studying in a foreign university can be that it can get a little heavy on your pockets. Studying in a foreign country can be expensive most times. One needs to have backup plan like a part time job available to take care of the expenses. One also needs to adjust with the culture of the place. For instance, a friend of mine who migrated to Germany for higher studies has to learn the local language that is German to interact with the locals around. Along with all these aspects, one has to adjust with the climate conditions of the nation. People who belong to tropical region like India, Sri Lanka have to adjust with the harsh, cold weather in the West. Although, studying abroad has its own advantages and drawbacks, I believe that it is an experience worth taking when provided with an opportunity.