In the past, the older generation was a source of knowledge and experience. Nowadays, the older generation has little understanding or experience of the modern world. Has this had any negative impact on the way the elderly are treated by society and the family? What could be done to solve this situation?

Society is indeed growing at the unparalleled rate that senior members cannot keep up with. However, I disagree with the notion that the elderly without knowledge or experience about the cutting-edge world can adversely affect the way they are treated by communities and their family as I believe that many measures can be taken to tackle this issue. To begin with, although old members may not be as imaginative as younger members, they have a great deal of experience in working as well as family life. Therefore, society and family always respect them for their contribution to communities and families. In the workplace setting, technologies such as computers, printers, or telephones help employees do their tasks effectively, but they cannot be so wise as those with experience. For example, the senior may solve conflicts between employees and managers or be aware of human-related problems such as pressure or sicknesses. To combat the age gap between generations, some remedies should be conducted for families and governments. From the family perspective, junior family members should devote some of their free time to communicating or taking part in their senior members’ social activities. For example, children can instruct their grandparents how to use computers or mobile phones instead of playing online games on their own. For the social perspective, governments should organize some clubs, events or competitions exclusively for the elderly. This is a way to demonstrate that older members are still useful for society. For example, in Vietnam, there is a competition called “The older, the wiser” where the aged can socialize and pass their wisdom down following generations. In conclusion, it seems to me that the elderly play a crucial role in any community and there are always methods to resolve this malady.