In the past, people trusted what they saw in photographs. Nowadays, because of technology, it is hard to trust the reality seen in photos. Do you think this is a negative or positive development?

People used to say "the camera does not lie. " However, the advent of a technology that can alter captured images has cast doubt on this expression. Consequently, many people do not believe what they see in photos these days, which is worrying because society needs access to trustworthy, reliable information. The ease with which photographs can be doctored these days implies certain dangers, chief among which are propaganda and manipulative advertising. In the first case, governments can utilize photos as political tools, especially against adversaries. For example, a politician running for office can make an opponent look bad in a picture, thereby alienating that candidate's voters. Likewise, corporations can amend photos of their customers in such a way that they appear pleased with the company's products and subsequently increase sales. In either case, the public learns to distrust everything. The main consequence of this is that people lose faith in their leaders, the media, corporations, and society itself. If no one can trust what they see and hear, they cannot make informed decisions and may feel they are being somehow cheated or exploited. This can result in less political engagement, reduced spending (which can hurt the economy), and increased fear of one's neighbours. A society thus living in fear because they cannot be sure of the truth is one that can be easily controlled and transformed into an authoritarian regime as opposed to a free one. In conclusion, people need access to reliable information so that they are be able to make appropriate decisions for themselves. The ability to manipulate that information can negatively impact society as a whole.