In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In the 20th century, there is a significant changes of the way people working. In the past, most of people need to travel to their work place however, because of technology advance most people start to work from their home. In my opinion, the development will generate the advantages and disadvantages for human being and these point of view will be discussed below. Furthermore, there are many advantages from the advance of technology in the work place especially with this development people being allowed to work from their home. First, the flexibility of working hours and place therefore, people are not strict with office hours however, they still need to be on schedule to finish their works. Second, people do not waste their time to travel to the work place especially for who those lived far away from the company. For instance, because of traffic jam in Jakarta, people need to travel more than an hour for only within 10 km which waste a lot of time. Third, people have more chance to work and communicate with a company partner from different country through the internet. On the other hand, work from home also generate disadvantage for human life. First, this development will be impacted to the productivity of workers. The productivity will be declined as there are many distraction from surroundings. For example people has to deal with their kids, house work and many else therefore, people will not focus to do their jobs from home and results negative performance for the company. In addition, work at home will generate less social interaction and will lead to someone stress and loneliness. In conclusion, there are many different advantages and disadvantages that generated from work from home. It is suggested for people to have a work life balance to face this development due to avoid the negativity from the development.