In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

The way in which we work has changed to a great extend in recent years. Some people still have to travel to their workplace each day while others have the option to work from home. The invention of computers, the internet and smartphones have a key role in making work from home possible. Although work from home won't work for all profession, a majority can benefit them. Both working styles have their own pros and cons. Firstly, there are certain advantages to working from home, which include it gives flexibility in working lives, lowers the level of stress and saves money. People who work far away from their workplace have to spend a considerable amount of time and money for a commute to and from the office. The level of anxiety they face in their daily life to reach the workplace on time is also to be addressed. By allowing the employees to work remotely, not only reduce the level of strain they face in their everyday life but also bring down the daily expense they spend on travel to reach the office. working remotely gives you the freedom to manage your own schedule with office hours having less of an impact on it. If you're not constrained to office hours the freedom is completely yours when to complete the task. Even if you do work office hours, you can take a break whenever you want to and even you can spend time not working doing something valuable. Though it is a convenient and comfortable working style for many, it has its own downsides. While working from home can be highly appealing with many benefits, there are also potential shortfalls when switching to a work from home position. some people still prefer to go to their workplace at least twice a week. Due to the fact that the majority of them may distract with their children and family while they work. Which in turn affect productivity. Some people may distract by comfort as well and this also results in less productivity. There are, of course, the risk of overworking. some people should work longer than you should. This can definitely lead to burnout and work-related stress. It can clearly avoid by allocating specific time for job task and personal task. For such people, it is important to have a designated workspace so that they can leave the office when the workday is over. To sum up, Although both working styles have their own merits and demerits, the benefits of work from home outweigh its disadvantage. The advancement of technology is the backbone of work from home, without it, nothing could have been possible. People should adapt to the changes to stay on track in this fast-moving world.