In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

With the invention of the internet, our lives are facilitated in ways that were never imagined previously. The inclusion of computers and smartphones in our daily lives has brought many pleasant experiences as well as some problems. Firstly, computers and smartphones have enabled us to work from home which is very helpful for people who have no one to take care of their children at home. Also, these advancements have provided workers with the opportunity of applying for jobs, in other countries far away from their place of living. Moreover, this globalization has given workers the advantage of flexible working hours without discomfort while sitting in their own homes. For instance, during Covid 19 outbreak worldwide, working from home has been an alternative to abide by the rules of social distancing to avoid virus spread. The main disadvantage of working from home is the lack of social interaction, which in many cases can affect the psychological well-being of workers. While flexible timings are an advantage but in many circumstances, people find it difficult to meet the deadlines due to several distractions at home. A viral video of a politician constantly interrupted by his son during an interview is a great example to show how the cozy and comfortable environment of the home can turn into a major distraction. To conclude, I think a peaceful environment with flexible working hours is as important as a social circle to maintain one's mental health. Thus, the best solution is to provide adjustable working hours with a few days to work at the job place and a few days to work at home.