In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Working patterns have evolved a lot from the previous era. Nowadays, the number of the workers working from home have tremendously increased from the past; however, during the old times they had to travel to their offices. The new shift of working from home have both benefits and drawbacks. This essay will discuss, firstly, in what way it is advantages for the worker as an individual and secondly, how it will adversely affect their family relations. The employees working from their residence can establish themselves in their field of work. This is due to the fact that, they have more freedom at their work and projects rather than when they are at the work places. Consequently, their employers can make out the capabilities and can reward them with promotions. For example, in a newspaper article it was mentioned that, the employees of Infosys are the most rewarded out of the pandemic by doing their work from home. Hence, this way it can aid in their professional life. On the other hand, work from home have created a negative impact on the family bonding. This is because, the workers spend their quality time in meetings and other project works. As a result, they get less time to spend with their families and this can create a friction inside the home. The reports from the Delhi court suggests that, the number of divorce cases family court have increased steadily from the past. Thus, it proves that work from home can affect the families and their relations of the worker. In conclusion, the new trend of working from home can have both positive and negative impact in the society. For the employers, it can be beneficial in professional wise; however, it can adversely affect their relationships with their families.