A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research.

There is a contentious argument between people over whether animals should have equalized rights as human beings. While others argue that mankind's needs come first, and animals can be used as sources to provide human needs including food and studies. This essay will discuss both sides. Furthermore, my personal opinion as the writer will be stated at the end. The most common reason why people who argue that animals' lives do not matter as humans might hold good intentions such as using animals in the medical field researches and studies to ease the process of examining a medicine to cure a disease. To elucidate, testing the COVID-19 vaccine on mice is better than killing people. Humans' health and safety come first. Moreover, others may claim that using animals to test cosmetic products before humans consume them is a positive use of animals in order to protect us as humans and to make sure products are safe enough for human beings. If not a rabbit or a mouse might die which is way better than sacrificing the life of a human. On the other hand, the vital reason why a number of people are defending animals and trying to equalize their life rights as humans is their sympathetic nature. They might feel sorry that living creatures are dying in pain to fulfill humans' desires whether it is food or putting a cosmetic product on. Furthermore, some companies do not care at all about hurting or killing animals. The most important goal for them is to earn money. In some situations, it is totally acceptable to behave compassionless. To elaborate, isolating cows from their newborns, or killing an animal in front of another are totally unacceptable behaviors for this group of people. To put in concisely, I bet each group has its beliefs, ideas, and reason. Personally, I believe I am on the fence, getting the benefit from animals by using them in experiments can be acceptable only if it is done with compassion. Improving the medical field and curing illnesses might matter more.