In the past, most people lived in the countryside and worked in farming. Some people believe that this was a better way of life than the way most people live today.

The way people live has changed dramatically since the turn of the 20th century. While some people say that living in the countryside and working as a farmer was a better way of life, I think the lifestyles people lead today are much better for three main reasons. Today, most people dwell in cities where there is a sophisticated healthcare system. If people fall sick, there are always qualified doctors on call. In contrast, people living in rural areas who mostly were involved in agriculture succumbed to common ailments such as flu and colds. Even worse, diseases like plague and cholera claimed a lot of lives as people did not know cure for them. With the advent of the internet and technology, there are now many employment opportunities. The arrival of the internet has led to the creation of many kinds of jobs, which allow even disabled people to be employed. However, in the past, only physically strong and capable people could work in the agriculture, making the handicapped too reliant on other family members. In addition, the most positive aspect of today’s life is the availability of conveniences. While some people might argue that the life was stress-free and simple in the past, I think that higher standards of living that we enjoy today is the small price we have to pay. For example, the absence of electricity, running water or household appliances like washing machine or vacuum cleaner made the lives of villagers physically demanding, tying them to their household for the entire day. To sum up, not only do modern lifestyles offer higher standards of living and healthcare system, but they also provide more work opportunities. Therefore, I totally disagree with the idea that the way villagers lived was better than we live today.