In some countries, young people are neglecting their right to vote. What problems does this cause and what are the possible solutions.

In some countries, the youth are not using their opportunity to vote. The main problem this causes is the formation of an incompetent government and the most viable solution is launching an awareness campaign in universities to show the importance of using the right to vote. The principle problem associated with less voting from youngsters is the wrong selection of the government. Most of the young people are not interested in politics as they are busy in their studies. They do not know the importance of voting and this can result in an incapable government being elected as compared to a competent government. For instance, In USA in 2016 election about 54% of youth did not participate in the polls. To tackle this problem, the government should launch an awareness campaign in colleges and universities about the importance of voting. The youngsters must be encouraged to use their right to vote so that good leadership can come into affect which in turn can result in a terrific growth and development of a country. For example, in a city in India, many publicity campaigns were taken out in universities urging the young people to vote and the result was quite good with about 72% youngsters voting in that particular election. In conclusion, young people not realising the importance of voting is a major issue that can result in the formation of an incompetent government. However, launching awareness campaigns in universities can educate youth to use their power to vote and choose a competent government.