In the passage, ‘The Northern Lights’ by Margo Fallis, the writer used several literary devices to describe the magnificence of the Northern Lights in northern Scotland.

In the passage, ‘The Northern Lights’ by Margo Fallis, the writer used several literary devices to describe the magnificence of the Northern Lights in northern Scotland. The writer begins the passage with a short description of the Northern Lights: ‘During the autumn and winter months in the northern areas of the world, the sun…’ allowing the reader to know what a Northern Light or Aurora Borealis is. It permits the reader to comprehend the beauty and splendor of the Northern Lights. Again the writer has given certain geographical location: ‘highlands of northern Scotland’ along with a timespan: ‘autumn and winter months’ contributing to the plot, character development, mood, and theme. It also affects the story by engaging the reader and helps them to visualize the events and context in which the narrative is being told.