Advantage and disadvantage of telling children that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

If a child learns anything at an early stage of their life they tend to grasp things faster. Making children learn this quality makes them focused and determined from the start of their journey. Another advantage is that it is a quality that they would carry with them for the rest of their lives and in fact, also motivate others around them. To cite an example, from learning of a bicycle, the parents make their kids understand that if they give up, they would not be able to ride like their friends which in return motivate them to learn quicker. Further more, it makes pupils accept their failures, and learn from the mistakes. If an individual keeps on trying a single task several times, they eventually learn the tricks and even get better at it. Also teaching a child to not give up, they would put it at all the situations they comeacrsoss, from playing a video game to their academics, learning a bicycle to driving a car. Apart from this, it a life mantra and a trick to success. In order to be a master at something, we keep on working on the same unless the desired results are achieved. On the other side, if an individual keeps on trying a given task several times and is unsuccessful at all the attempts, it would gradually make them negative and they could doubt themselves. This then becomes a serious issue and would lead to depression and suicide at worse cases. Another disadvantage is, the child may not accept his failures. The notion “I can do it”, may cause children not accept their mistakes, and may lead to more negative and serious issues with the time. For example, if a child is good in academics, but if someone else is better than them, then sometimes the person may take help of false methods to prove that he/she is better than the rest. There are both advantages and disadvantages to it. I believe just teaching them to not give up is not enough, along with that they must also be taught to differentiate between good and bad. This would help the child not give up by good means only. To sum up, teaching a child to try harder at every task has both merits and demerits; however, the positive points are far more.