Very few schoolchildren learn about the value of money and how to look after it, yet this is a critical life skill that should be taught as part of the school curriculum. Do you agree or disagree?

Despite of it being an important part of life, school going children are unaware of the importance and savings of money. Many proponents think that a financial sense should be inculcated into their minds by the school syllabus. I am completely supportive of the statement that, at school level, students should be taught how to spend and save money for the reasons discussed next. Every child is born innocent. School education lays the foundations of a child's thought and processing. It is where he learns all the basic tactics that are essential for his growth in general and career wise. At school level, giving them an insight, bit by bit, into how to manage finances would help them in the long run. They will learn the importance of saving money for the rainy days. While their pocket money may be petty; a child, once having learnt how to save a proportion of his pocket money, will retain this acquired skill throughout his life. Since savings for rainy days are never fruitless, they might as well spend them for their own needs. For example, my school had bits of finance and management as a part of our curriculum at a micro-level. It is where I built this habit of keeping some of my monthly pocket money in my money box. Sometimes, I needed new toy and my parents would not agree to buy me one, I would resort to my mini-bank- buying myself the desired toy. Thus, school children can learn how to save their, money and spend it on buying the desired toys, sweets, and sorts. If a school-goer has been taught balancing the expenditures; he, as a grown up adult, might swim effortlessly through the ocean of ever-increasing adult-life financial problems. This strategy provides one with the lifesaving skill of keeping monthly bills in check and sort out which of the expenses he can omit to alleviate his financial burdens. Since I was taught how to keep a personal financial stability at school; today, as a thirty-year-old adult, I barely face any issues when it comes to dividing my salary for monthly rents and bills. This way my pocket is never overwhelmed by my requirements. Thus, once a child has learnt managing expenses in his classroom, he will never face financial issues when he starts earning and spending his own. While many school students today are unaware of the value of money and savings, schools should be appreciated starting teaching them finance and management skills and problems. I am totally supportive of this idea since such teachings will make keep them at ease on their hard days, and they will never be burdened by their bills once they have learnt how to keep a balance in their expenditures.