In the last decade, there has been a great increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. This has been welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, however, other students see these courses as less effective than classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online course?

Over the period of the last 10 years, a huge surge in the availability of the online educational programmes for grown-ups has been observed. This trend is perceived differently by learners. Many have appreciated and recognised its benefits, while others find these programmes ineffective in comparison to the conventional instruction method. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of distance learning. Correspondence courses not only provide the optimum education in the comfort of one's own home but also according to their own chosen time schedule. Moreover, applicants can apply and pay the fee for the course from anywhere across the globe without even visiting the university personally. For an instance, an aspirant in Delhi can apply and join the online programme in any of the Canadian university without visiting the country. However, the biggest drawback of e-learning is less or a complete absence of teacher-student interaction. It lacks the practical aspects of learning and thus encourages passive learning. As a result, students find it less effective method to attain the best knowledge. According to the recent survey, seventy percent of the students enrolled in the online courses found it unsatisfactory. To conclude, the enormously growing attainability of online education has gained its popularity among the young adults. Many learners find it as a boon to continue their education at their own ease while many recognise this as less efficient due to lack of practical knowledge associated. Hence, online learning has both the pros and cons, it's the applicant's discretion to opt according to his requirements.