In the last couple of decades, advertising has become ubiquitous, permeating every aspect of our lives.

In the last couple of decades, advertising has become ubiquitous, permeating every aspect of our lives. While some people claim that it has an immense influence on our purchasing habits, others disagree, saying that we have stopped noticing it due to overexposure. In this essay, | will discuss both these views and agree with the latter. On the one hand, it can be argued that advertising is extremely successful at causing people to make a purchase. Marketing specialists apply highly effective persuasive techniques, such as offering discounts or showing multiple pictures of happy people, which affect people’s behavior as they appeal to basic human nature. For example, when a customer sees a limited offer, they are likely to buy the advertised item because they think they can save some money or obtain a unique product, both of which are fundamental desires most people have. This shows that people easily respond to advertising, making purchases they have not planned. On the other hand, there is an opinion that people have started to ignore advertising since they are bombarded with it. This can be explained by the fact that people usually tend to stop reacting to repetitive stimuli. On top of that, most posters and commercials are shown in predictable places and at predictable times, which means that people can quickly shift their focus, directing it at their own interests. For example, an experienced internet user expects to see banners on a website and can thus avoid looking at them, focusing solely on their goals. It can therefore be argued that even with considerable manipulative powers, advertising can fail to reach its target as people have learned not to engage with it. To conclude, while it may be true that advertising can have a significant impact on people, it can only do so if it reaches them. | therefore believe that it has lost its effectiveness due to the fact that people have become immune to the exposure.