In the last 20 years, there have been significant developments in the field of information technology(IT), for example, the world wide web and communication by email. However, these developments in IT are likely to have more negative effects than positive in the future.

The many remarkable innovations in the IT field like internet, world wide web and online social media are undoubtedly one of the greatest achievements of man. While it boasts of many advantages like speed and convenience, there are many negative aspects also. I feel the disadvantages of these enhancements in IT industry will outweigh its advantages in the long run. The Internet, social media and email communications have become almost intertwined with our daily life. But little do we realise that we are slowly developing into a society which thrives on instant gratification. As everyone has a mobile or laptop with them all the time, there is a high expectation to provide a response to a late night official email or to finish a work assignment over the weekend. In this competitive world, many of us succumb to these demands thereby spending dangerously long hours staring at our devices. As we spend more time “online”, we become disconnected or “offline” with our friends and family. Prolonged absence of face to face interaction is proven to be severely detrimental to mental well-being. It’s fair to say that more than the automobile industry, it’s the IT industry that has propelled a sedentary lifestyle. In the earlier days, people used to go to their local shops by foot to get their daily supplies. But nowadays almost all the shopping is done online so people hardly ever go out. Evidently the conveniences of IT, like online grocers, video consultation with doctor, online social networking etc has brought along with it a lifestyle with a less physical movement. Not just this lack of physical exercise cause many physical ailments, but it’s also known to be the cause of anxiety and depression. What use is an innovation if it hinders the natural way in which humans were created to interact. ? As a social being, humans crave contact with fellow beings by actually seeing, meeting, touching and conversing face to face. This helps to build trust and lasting relationships which are foundations for a happy life. In my opinion, the negative effects of these IT has started to take its toll on our young population as we can see many more bespectacled kids today than a few decades before, It has now become a imperative for the adults of this generation to take more responsibility to keep a check on their usage timings and regulate themselves and become an example for the next generation.