In the last 20 years the assessment of students has undergone major transformation. Many education

The ongoing debate about the complex and multifaceted nature of the classroom crisis has long been apparent. The evolution of the world of education in the last two decades has significantly reshaped the way we evaluate a student’s ability. This pandemic has accelerated numerous experiments in the assessment of students in this digital age. Advocates of educational reforms champion the use of unconventional and innovative ways in measuring students’ performances as they believe formal examination results is not necessarily the best way to indicate someone’s ability. I agree with the statement given to a certain extent. Formal written examinations merely take into account a student’s capability of memorising and regurgitating information. This long established, traditional system fails to produce and develop inquisitive, analytical and critical individuals. This narrow academic focus also fails to recognise the importance of non cognitive skills such as creativity and social skills. These key attributes are necessary in attaining competitive job prospects. Ivan Illich, the radical philosopher in his book Deschooling Society talks about the way formal schooling indoctrinates individuals to become passive consumers. I agree with his perspective because the process of education majorly involving exams tends to encourage passivity in classrooms and stifle imagination and creativity in young minds. Educational institutions used to simply be places where students learn how to pass exams rather than being taught how to create things, critically think problems through and develop their human potential to the fullest. However, this argument inevitably has its flaws. Unconventional models of evaluation include presentations, group assignments and even forums. It is essentially necessary to assume the presence of bias based on gender, ethnicity and social class besides the internalised stereotypical views in educators. For example, teachers holding onto an ethnocentric view will have a limited perception on minorities thus pushing their grades to a lower threshold. This will clearly impact their academic performance and chances in school. These factors disproportionately impact vulnerable and marginalised students and favours individuals with the cultural capital of the bourgeoisie in this capitalist society. Therefore, formal examinations provide an even playing field where everyone is required to learn the same thing and appraised on the same basic level of difficulty and understanding. In conclusion, no one method of assessment will ever be truly perfect. Nevertheless, it is worth noting their benefits and incorporating each of them in the education system in order to reach a holistic approach. Educational institutions should not only adhere to the established tenets of education but continuously revolutionary and novel ways in teaching and evaluating.