“In the future, there would be a uniform global currency. ”

During the emergence of human civilization, barter system existed and the concept of currency came later in human life. Initially there was no strict criterion (plural – criteria) about the form of money. Then metal currencies that reflected specific dynasties were minted. Furthermore, the world economy grew and since then, there has been an organized administration for intercontinental trade and commerce. At present each nation has its own currency, valued at international standards. Differences in value of currencies are very evident in the global financial system. Many of us anticipate that in coming years, the world would have started using a uniform medium of exchange. I do not foresee any such possibilities. The main reason to support my stand is the division of world into three groups of countries; developed, developing and underdeveloped. This categorization reflects disparities in the value of currencies in the world economy. Developed nations‘ currencies are valued at higher rates than the other two groups. It is obvious that powerful countries would strongly advocate the present system of differences in international value of currencies. Superpowers would never want to give up their dominance in international trade due to their high valued currency. Moreover, there would be a question of the management of existing currency in global circulation. After all, it is almost impossible to exchange all the money in terms of the value of a new currency. The world economy may undergo a downturn if all the fixed and floating assets are to be valued at single currency. Hence, introduction of homogeneous global currency is not a practical idea. In addition, differences in currency rates have created many employments in the banking sector. Every day, billions are exchanged for global business and countless professional bodies enable this exchange. Moreover increased migration has literally dissolved geographical boundaries between rich and poor nations. Differences in value of currencies are one of the main reasons for migration. If a uniform currency becomes a norm, migration would be discouraged. All in all, the vision of a uniform currency is an implausible hypothesis. Difference in value of currencies is a great economic challenge that is going to fuel worldwide economics forever.