In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying

The advancement of Internet has brought many advantages to our everyday life. You could rapidly pay the bills, apply for a job position, ask for a medium-sized loan and find a vast amount of books and PDF files for free. The last one of these innovations has inevitably been a disruptor for the general publishing and newspaper industries. However, the full adoption of the LED-illuminated flat screen of our computers as a reading medium may not be so obvious. In my opinion, there will always be people who might not be so comfortable reading without a concrete book page before their eyes and free access to information might not occur as strict laws exist against online piracy. First of all, it should be considered how newspapers and magazine have adapted to the advent of Internet. It was postulated that a technological revolution of this kind would have killed traditional magazines, however it has only boosted investments on the creation of online newspapers that can be accessed by means of a monthly membership. Bloomberg, the Financial Times, the Wall Street Journal are just examples of newspapers that invest millions of dollars on their databases and their online papers. Such investments include strengthening cyber security, rendering the possibility of bypassing their systems and reading for free virtually impossible. In such environments you could still find secondary websites that offer relevant news for free but these same media would lack authority, something that the newspapers above have. Besides, they would lack the possibility of offering breaking news on the spot. On the other hand, the probability of finding a book online in PDF format is way higher when compared with newspapers. Internet has been bursting with websites such as PDF Drive that collect pdf files on the web and offers them for free. The result has been a full blow to the publishing industry but an immense advantage for avid readers and university students. It is well known that academic books, have peaked outrageous prices, boosted by an increasing demand from the general student population. Having these same text files for free has inevitably cut on a student’s expenses. However, it should be considered how not everyone is at ease when reading a book from a computer. Many readers tend to write side notes on the pages of their texts, underline important sentences and generally touch what they are reading and ultimately collect books on their personal shelve. All these aspects of that come with reading are naturally limited when resorting to free pdf files online. In conclusion, the possibility of reading text files for free is tangible as many books are already available on the web. Having full access to magazines and newspapers, on the contrary, is harder and may not be the most efficient option in the long-run. An outcome of this kind may have to wait some years in order for people to get used to utilize their screens and computers to read what they love at minimal costs.