In the future, nobody will buy printed newspaper or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. with the statement

The mechanism for the transmission of news has evolved over the years from a traditional, paper based purchase model to platform based freemium model. I think that within the next few decades, people will not have a need to purchase newspapers as they would be able to read up on subject matters of interest to them, free of charge. This essay will advance reasons why I think newspaper would continue to loose relevance in the years ahead. A major reason why I expect the popularity of newspaper to wane in the future is due to the evolution of the social media. There appear to be a movement to democratize news broadcasting by the citizens of many democratic countries. These citizens believe that media has been used in the past to influence public opinion and even sell out narratives that is of interest to the government of the day and frustrate efforts to constructively criticize an underperforming government. Proponents of freemium news model therefore believe that they can source of news themselves at no cost, gather a community of willing freelance news sourcers that would increase the content in the community for free and achieve fairness and transparency in the media industry. A final reason why I believe free news will be the future of the world is due to technological advancements; as we encounter greater sophistication in the technology space leading to cheaper phones and softwares, more people are able to own a mobile phone, use myriads of application to broadcast news and can consume the information provided free of charge. For example, during the recent protest against police brutality in Nigeria, the government attempted to cover alledged extra judicial killings but did not succeed as people already had evidences of what transpired on their mobile phones. To conclude, newspaper will continue to be relevant for the next decade, but I expect it's popularity to diminish to the level of insignificance within the next four decades.