In the developed world, average life expectency is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In the modern world, the expected life of an individual is gradually increasing. Many people think that the trend is a positive development, but it has caused some problems for many countries. The following essay will discuss the effect of this positive trend, and some of the ways that could be considered in addressing the problem. It is a fact that average life expectancy of a single person has increased these days, due to the global improvement in the sector of economic, social politic, education and public health. Despite this positive development, the ageing population has caused some issues for governments. Firstly, as the number of senior people increases, the budget that governments must provide for the retirement fund and medical care automatically rises. Secondly, the growing number of senior people will be aligned with density problems. As the population of older people grows, the demand for the housing rise and consequently increase the price of properties, which would be a problem for the young people. For instance, a recent research However, there are some steps that governments could consider to resolve the issue. One of the ways is that governments could extend theatre standard retirement age standard. Many countries have the standard pension age at the age of 55 years old, and they could extend the age into 60 or 65 years since their senior people are still in a healthy and prime condition. Therefore it would reduce governments’ social welfare budget for the retired people. Besides that, governments could also provide a subsidy for the young people when they plan to buy a house. In conclusion, the world is developing rapidly in the last few years, and it has positively impacted on the average life expectancy. However, this positive has caused some problems for individuals and communities, therefore it is necessary for governments to take some actions in solving the issue.