In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

The gradual increase of the older community in developing countries is really alarming. This will lead to a variety of negative impacts on their people and population that measures need to be introduced immediately to tackle this problem. The main problems that the extended lifespan would be caused is increasing the tax burden on a community. It is more likely that governments should put aside more expenditures to pay retired people’s pensions as they are very likely to live longer than people living in other countries. In this case, governments should levy greater taxes on working people to compensate those expenses, including health care which older people receive. In addition, young people should spend more time on looking after ageing people. However, there are some solutions may be put forward in order to mitigate this situation. Firstly, the authorities can raise the age of retirement, as today, many countries have done, the UK for example. Some might argue that as people become older, they display less effectiveness, as they are prone to more diseases, but I think today, thanks to medical advances, people can stay healthy and work longer even at ages above 60. Secondly, since today we have seen a drop in the birth rate, people should be encouraged to give more birth to already ensure there will be the young people enough to replace the older population in the future. Finally, immigration would be the last resort if all other solutions didn’t meet the needs of a society or governments require to revive their markets with younger workers. In conclusion, the augmentation of average life expectancy in developed countries is creating some problems. The governments should have immediate and appropriate measures to increase the younger population in order to keep balance in the society.