In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Mean human lifespan is increased extremely in a current world. Although it is generally beneficial for the development, there are several associated problems for a list of countries. This essay will first discuss the main issue related to extended lifetime, which is economical setbacks in a lot of countries. Secondly, it will be followed by an analysis of the expanding retirement age standard as the most effective measure to remedy this situation. The most critical concern is that as the number of senior people increases, the budget that governments must provide for the retirement fund and medical care automatically rises. In other words, rarely do people realize how much money is spent on an elderly person and an ageing population will mean a greater tax burden for working adults. The proportion of younger, working adults will be smaller, and governments will therefore receive less money in taxes in relation to the size of the population. For example, Germany now witness serious trouble, due to the lack of young people. In this country able-bodied people make up only 34%, while another is the share of retired or children. Therefore, they are suffering from a shortage of employers. One of the best ways to alleviate this daunting predicament is to encourage immigration in order to increase the number of working adults who pay taxes. This is because in a lot of countries a total fertility rate has downward trend, so it is complicated to have own young generation who can work efficiently. As a result, encouraging international students or middle-age workers migrate would reduce governments’ social welfare budget for the retired people. For instance, this scheme is successfully used in a Belgium and France, in which government invites students to have a bachelors or master’s degree and then, continue to stay and work here. In conclusion, one of the main problems connected with prolonged average life expectancy is economical hurdles in a lot of aspects and this can be resolved through an enlarging age of retirement.