In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is true that people in first-world nations can expect to live much longer than ever before. Various consequences arise from such upward trend. This essay will examine the main issues as well as measures to this situation. As the populations of developing countries grow older, several related problems can be anticipated. It is obvious that the number of people who represent the working class will decrease as long as the elder adults increase. To illustrate more, governments will receive less money in taxes in relation to the size of the available population. Subsequently, a greater tax may be burdened by younger people. Furthermore, the amount of budget spent on health services will not be enough for the supply of the growing figure. In fact, without sufficient facilities young adults will increasingly have to look after their elderly relatives. There are several actions that governments could take to tackle the problems described above. To begin with, immigration can be encouraged in order to stimulate the number of working adults who pay taxes. For example, Germany offers a wide range of incentives for work through attractive programs for beginner professionals. Secondly, money from national budgets can be taken from other areas and spent on vital health care, accommodation and transport facilities for the rising numbers of older citizens. Along with this measure, the retirement age could be extended perhaps from 65 to 70, because nowadays, most of the people of this age tend to be healthy enough to continue a productive working life. By way of conclusion, there are two principal problems for countries with older populations and steps can be taken to solve current concerns.