In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

It is clear that in the industrialised world, human life span has been increasing at a rapid rate. This essay will highlight some of the main problems of this and give several possible solutions to reduce the adverse impacts resulting from ageing population. There are a number of challenges related to this trend. One of the problems is that increasing lifetime places an increasing burden on health systems. Senior citizens suffer from various morbidity such as high blood pressure, diabetes, stroke or heart attack, requiring some special medical treatments to be effectively treated. Therefore, the government might have to spend a big chunk of money on health and social care so as to meet the demand for elderly people. Another issue facing a country with longevity is that there will be a rise in the number of old people gaining pension incentive payments, and a decrease in the size of working adults. Not only do these problems put heavy pressure on the national budget and the working population, but working adults may also have to pay more taxes, which negatively affects their lives. However, the government could implement a variety of measures to cope with the issues of raising life cycle. The first solution would be to pay attention to the importance of private sectors in providing medical services and volunteer work; by doing this; they will be beneficial for both them and communities. Finally, it is vital to raise people’s awareness about how to manage and save money for retirement so that they will have an amount of money to care for themselves and not rely on government support or their children. In conclusion, various can be implemented to tackle the problems that a country with an ageing population may cope with.