In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

Nowadays, we are living in a world where the improvement of people's health is a heated topic and often discussed. It is true that in a developed society, populations are becoming older and older. While this trend could trigger some negative consequences, a number of viable solutions could be adopted to tackle them. As people live longer, several related problems can be anticipated. One of them could be that governments will suffer from financial burden on social welfare. As the number of senior citizens grows, authorities have to take responsibility for pension funds, medical care, old folks' home (accommodation) and so on. In addition, retirement pensions will affect on economic development because instead of covering all of those expenses for the elderly, governments could use this budget to invest in industry, economy, education, medical research. Another drawback is being technologically lagged behind. Because older people are not capable of catching the latest trend and it is clear that the elderly will not develop technology as well as youngsters with innovative mindsets and flexible activities. Give the aforementioned setbacks, it is highly recommended that governments adopt several remedies to rectify them. One of the effective solutions could be to expand pensionable age. This move would be favorable because many countries are having the standard pension age at 55 years old, they should extend the age into 60 or 65 when senior citizens still have good health. Hence, it would reduce a wide range of budget to pay for this and avoid waste of labor force. A second measure would be that authorities should promulgate policies to support the young generation in taking care of their old relatives. Therefore, youngsters absolutely have more spare time to focus on work, which could lead to the development of many areas. In conclusion, humans' lifespan is likely to cause a number of potential concerns and the proposed methods can be taken to mitigate them.