In the contemporary day and age where cross-cultural awareness is promulgated throughout, making contact with other cultures is no longer out of the ordinary, in both leisure activities and business.

In the contemporary day and age where cross-cultural awareness is promulgated throughout, making contact with other cultures is no longer out of the ordinary, in both leisure activities and business. Therefore, experiencing cultural diversity has become a norm. Which, comes with mostly benefits, but also has a significant drawback. Firstly, in today’s tech-savvy times, the world is rapidly becoming smaller. As people travel far and wide, there are high chances that you will encounter communities with varying cultures. Therefore, the most imperative advantage is the way travellers familiarize themselves with different traditions and lifestyles of another country. Also, the same tourists share knowledge about their own cultures to the locals. Thus, these actions have the power to bridge a gap between different cultures via mutual understanding. Secondly, the main benefit business individuals bring to the table is ability to make money by understanding different cultures. Which, helps every party involved. One gains economically, another one gets desired product. Striking example being IKEA’s success in China. They achieved their goal by familiarizing themselves with Chinese routines and way of life. Hence, tailoring their marketing campaign specifically to the Chinese population became easier and their triumph was inevitable. On the other hand, although the advantages of this issue outweigh the disadvantages, according to my thinking there is one noteworthy downside. Which is generalization of an undesirable occurence, that may mistakenly give a traveller negative impression of given culture. On that account, making rash assumptions about cultures is unfounded, because learning takes time and a lot more than one unenviable experience. In conclusion, socializing through trips and bussinesses is instrumental in raising cultural awareness along with literacy. Additionally, trips are going to be advantageous for people and societies, politically and economically. Provided that, visitors will not jump to conclusions after one hindrance during their journey.