In the business world, it recently became evident that communication and interpersonal competencies are

In the business world, it recently became evident that communication and interpersonal competencies are scarcely present with new hires. This may be of no surprise particularly with the advent of artifical intelligence, the fast-paced environment we are operating in and a plethora of reasons as well. This essay will discuss the key causes in my personal opinion that may account for this finding. On one hand, digitalization has become a critical aspect in students and current employees' personal and professional lives. They are relying on digital tools to carry day-to-day functionalities given that the digital world has significantly advanced in the last 5 years, and digital tools provide efficient, less time consuming solutions with no need to interact with human beings. For example, during the current Covid-19 pandemic we are currently living in, many schools, universities, and businesses have shut their campuses and offices, and have shifted the working model to remote or "working from home". This has continued for over a year now posing a high impact on interpersonal and social skills. As such, fresh graduates and employees witnessing the former experience are displaying a scarcity in interpersonal capabilities when attending job interviews. Furthermore, given the recent dyanmics and advancements in various fields including technology, education, digitalization and the corporate world. The environement we live in today is highly fast-paced relative to a decade ago with minimal time left for meaningful work to sustain a social lifestyle with a healthy level of human interaction. In accordance with this phenomenon, parents in the last 12 years have inadequate time to spend with their children and nurture them to be social beings thereby resulting in a generation with insufficient interpersonal characteristics. I believe I am personally a victim of this when comparing myself and my siblings interpersonal skills to preceding generations. In conclusion, the hypes and vast escalations in the tech and digital world has facilitated different aspects of our lives yet resulted in a rather negative impact on human communication skills and interactions. With that being said, businesses shall incorporate interpersonal competencies' trainings when onboarding new hires and raise awareness on the need to consciously improve their communication and presentation skills as this will create higher levels of creativity and maximize success.