In the 21st century, how important is it to read, write and speak English in Malaysia?

Malaysia is a multi-ethnic country. The main races are Malay, Chinese, Indian and some indigenous people. They have their own culture, different lifestyle and different language. Malaysians will have these different races friends, so English is very significant for Malaysians to communicate with their friends. Nowadays, English is an important language to communicate with people in this global community. In Malaysia, they have their national language which is Malay. Now the children of the first exposed with language in addition to be their mother tongue, other than that is English. People usually speak their mother tongue more, compare to other language. Furthermore, English language also has to use by employees and employers. They need to discuss or communicate in the business. In the 21st century, English is use by the entire world, even in the business communication. Since Malaysia gradually toward into the internationalization, learning English is super important to have better development. Besides, Malaysian schools also test for the student’s English level during the examination. After collecting the data, the ministry of education found out that the standard of the English language among Malaysians have been declining. They think that schools should encourage students to speak more English in the class. They think that many Malaysians students did well in English language examination, but not in the speaking and listening part. They are trying to help the students to improve and to stress the importance of speaking and learning English in Malaysia. Moreover, tourists that come to visit Malaysia can improve the economy. For example, they spend their holidays in Malaysia or spend the money to buy souvenirs. So, the Malaysians should take good care of them and understand what they want. Knowing and speaking good English can help us to communicate or introduce well about this beautiful country, Malaysia for them. In conclusion, in the 21st century, English is very important especially in Malaysia which has many different races. If we want to ensure a better future, the first thing we need to do is to learn well in English. The reason that English has never been abolished in Malaysia’s school is the best evidence that it is super important in Malaysia.