In the 20th century, the citizens in some countries have the value of owning accommodation, rather than renting it. There are major two factors that contributed to this problem. Although few advantages occurred, I believe that disadvantages have more impact.

In the 20th century, the citizens in some countries have the value of owning accommodation, rather than renting it. There are major two factors that contributed to this problem. Although few advantages occurred, I believe that disadvantages have more impact. First of all owning a house could be an asset, leading to profit maximization in the long-run. Likewise, the value of the land and the construction increases each year. Housing can be considered as assets which values will be accumulated, and the higher price will be occured in the future. Secondly, purchasing a house requires the owner to design and choose the materials regrading of their preference. Hence, the owners could construct and design accommodation based on life-styles, allowing the house to be the representative of what is inside the owner. For example, if the owner of the accommodation is a girl who has a dream the be princess, she could design the home with the pastel color and cute design to suit her preference. However, a plethora of negative situation can be occurred. Firstly, high social pressure from family or friends influence people to purchase a house at very young ages. Likewise, bad money management during recession period could make the owner can not afford the payment of the house, resulting in selling the house at low prices. Take thai economy crisis as a example, during Thai recession, a number of business need to be shut down, no income or subsidy provided to unemployment workers, resulting in many accommodations need to be took over from commercial bank. In conclusion, from all mentioned above, some citizens that have the believe to own not rent a house could occur in the society because of profit maximization and owner’s preference. However, this is a negative situation as a result of bad monetary management.