In some states in the US, a curfew is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

A system where a child is restricted from going out when it is past certain period of the night except an adult follow them around is practiced in certain parts of the United State of America. In my opinion, because this kind of curfew has its advantages and disadvantages, it should only be implemented with caution after careful consideration is given to its merits and demerits. On the one hand, limiting children from going out all by themselves when a particular time is exceeded mainly helps to ensure they are protected from dangers. In other words, the security of teenagers is guaranteed with an adult in their midst. Basically, this is pertinent considering these grownups have better experience and are more mature to deal with with any threat and anything that portends harm. Besides, having their movement curtailed or monitored could stop them from misbehaving or prevent them from putting forward their worst behaviour. This is necessary because adolescents with their impressionable minds tend to engage in youthful exuberance whenever there is nobody watching. Thus, stopping them from involving in unlawful practice and juvenile experiments. On the other hand, there are drawbacks to having adults follow teenagers around. One leading negative in this respect is that it creates a sense of fear and unease in their minds. Considering the fact that for children to develop into well-rounded adults, they are supposed to be allowed a measure of space to express themselves, face challenging circumstances and subsequently, learn from those happenings. Therefore, the presence of adult policing them around could stifle the spirit of adventure and hamper their learning and ultimately their development. Furthermore, if the elderly goes around with teens, they could start seeing it as an infringement on their right to association. In circumstances where this is done excessively, it could result in children rebelling against their parents, since they start feeling they are being deprived of their rightful freedom. For instance, researchers have shown that children raised in the states where type of curfew is dominant have the highest rate of teenage disobedience and crime in comparison to places no bar on outing time holds. In conclusion, the imposition of the embargo on the time limit at night in which a child is not permitted to go out alone at night without having a grownup amidst them, that is observed in a number of states in the US, has its upsides and downsides that must be put into consideration before adopting it, so as to realise its set out objectives. Given the above, I believe that while it can be an advantageous thing to do in order to safeguard children from harm of any kind, it must be applied in such a way no to make them afraid and think that their rights is being encroached upon or private space, invaded.