In some places, young people find it difficult to communicate with older people. Why is this? What are the solutions?

Communication is a key to strong bond and good relationship. It is often seen in many countries that youngsters have difficulty in communicating with elders. Difference in opinion is the main reason of this problem and adjustment and spending time are the possible solutions to it. Wide generation gap between young people and old generation leads to difference in opinion and thinking. This is because both have different perspective towards things and situations. Older people in our country, for instance, holds conservative views regarding family structures. They like the culture of joint family whereas young people prefer to live in nuclear family. This results in conflict between the two parties and increases differences. In addition, busy schedules and changing lifestyles have added to this communication gap. Youngsters are so busy with their work and hectic schedules that they do not get enough time to spend with elders. For example, after doing 9 hours of job people are left with no time to spend with their grandparents. This makes people emotionally detached from their grandparents. There are few steps which can be taken to make communication easy and better. Spending quality time with older generation will help in reducing the gap and will improve the bond between two. Indeed, people will be able to understand each other better if they listen to other’s viewpoint. Moreover, little adjustment and adaptability can also act as a positive development. Young generation should sometimes adjust as per old generation and at times old should adapt and try to change a bit according to changing times. In conclusion, although opposite viewpoints make it difficult for people of different ages to talk and understand each other, little efforts from both sides can reduce this difficulty. Devoting time and listening to others with patience can result in effective communication.