In some parts of the world, it is becoming popular to research the history of one's own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Gathering information regarding one’s own family and its history has gained traction recently. People are doing this to find out more about their families and also help understand themselves better. In my opinion, this is a positive development as it brings one closer to their family. Firstly, finding out the family history of one’s own family and ancestors in particular help the current generations to understand more about their family and also their roots. It helps them to find out more about their cultural roots and develop an appreciation for their ancestors and their struggles. For instance, people whose forefathers were immigrants are likely to appreciate and sympathize with their struggles. Secondly, people use their research to discover what their predecessors did to deal with scenarios similar to their situations. In addition to this, knowing such information can bring them closer to their families and appreciate such ties better. Finding out about familial history acts as a catalyst for greater things in life. Also, the present generation is more interested in finding out about their ancestors to understand where their talents lie and what were the activities which they undertook in their lifetimes. This helps those who are at a crossroads in life to take a proper decision. For instance, I aspired to study law only after knowing that one of my ancestors was a top lawyer a few generations ago and spurred me to choose law. To conclude, researching one's family history is a positive development as it helps the young to understand themselves and brings them closer to their family.