In some part of the world, it is becoming popular to research the history of one’s own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

More often than not, it has become an increasing trend for people exploring their family’s root around most countries in the world. I consider this is because it helps them discover their identity and culture. Moreover, it can also provide useful information about their past that can be beneficial to their present life. To begin with, people whose fore-parents migrated to a foreign land generations ago will most like be curious and anxious to find out about their true identity. Therefore, they make several efforts to carry research into their family background to help them discover where they originate from. Consequently, knowing about their origin helps them understand their culture as well as build their self-worth. For instance, a girl from African origin living in Europe will be intrigued to learn about African food, music and art. This will help build her self-esteem among her peers. In addition, finding out about one family background might lead to knowledge of information that is beneficial in dealing with current life’s circumstances. Some family have traits or diseases that are hereditary, therefore it will be of enormous advantage if such people are aware of these conditions. In other words, a person with a family history of cancer will take necessary precaution to reduce or avoid its occurrence if some of these informations are known, thus, helping them live a healthier and prolonged life. In conclusion, it is advantageous for people to learn more about their historical background, as it helps them identify with their origin. Moreover, they also gain knowledge of traits that are peculiar to their family, which can be beneficial to them in making some life choices.