In some large cities, people have to pay a fee when they drive their cars into the city centre, in a policy to reduce the number of cars in the city.

In these days and ages, one of the major problems faced by developed cities is traffic congestion due to the staggering amount of car owners in these areas. As a result, drivers are charged a fee before entering the city centre in some places. Undoubtedly, this policy certainly comes with some positive impacts on the traffic. It is evident that with an extra charge applied upon driving into the city centre, drivers tend to become more serious while considering the necessity of getting into the town centre. Besides, activities, like carpooling or taking public transportation, are also practised more often by people. Consequently, there would be a dramatic improvement on the traffic condition as congestion is likely to occur less frequently. However, in my opinion, the detrimental sides of this policy definitely outweigh the benefits. First of all, it is logistically out of the question for the government to install the required equipment as it involves plenty of funds. On the other hand, this policy would also directly increase the financial burden of people. It is due to the fact that there are always people whose jobs need them to be constantly travelling around the city. While the rich drivers may be unaffected by this policy, those workers with an average amount of income would surely be troubled by the extra fee. To conclude, the solution mentioned above is way too extreme to be practised. In strong contrast, the government should provide free or low-cost public transportation into the city centre during peak hours so that it would end up benefiting more people.