In some developing countries, it is difficult to get good teachers to work in rural areas which can have a negative impact on the education of children in those rural communities. Why do you think good teachers do not want to work in rural areas in developing countries? What could be done to solve this problem?

In developing nations finding teachers who are willing to work in the rural areas is becoming difficult. As a result rural children often fail to get good education. There are several reasons behind this trend. The most important is the disparity in the wages of a rural teacher and an urban teacher. In the developing or undeveloped world, people working in urban areas tend to earn a lot more than those working in the rural areas. Teachers are no different. A teacher working in the countryside earns much less than a teacher with comparable qualifications working in cities. Since salary is the first thing that most people consider while choosing a job, few teachers are willing to work in villages. Rural areas also lack several amenities. Many of them don’t have facilities for recreation. For example, many villages do not have movies or clubs where people can relax after a long working day. Lack of internet connectivity is another problem that makes rural areas less attractive to people. Unfortunately, when teachers refuse to work in the countryside, rural students suffer. Just like their urban counterparts, children living in rural areas also need quality education. For this reason, it is imperative that schools find good teachers. The government and school managements can encourage more teachers to work in villages by offering them salaries comparable to those earned by teachers working in the city. The government can make this happen by enacting laws that ensure that people practicing the same profession are paid the same wages throughout the country. Teachers also need to treat their profession as a noble vocation that has the potential to make difference to a lot of lives. To conclude, low salaries are the main reason that discourages teachers from working in the countryside. The only way to solve this problem is to ensure that regardless of where they are working, teachers earn the same salaries throughout the country.