In some countries celebrities complain about the way media publicize their private lives. Some people say that they should accept it as part of their fame.

I disagree with the view that celebrities have to accept the manner in which their private lives are I disagree with the view that celebrities have to accept the manner in which their private lives are made public by the media. It is undeniable that they are in the spotlight and want to be popular by choice. However, their rights to privacy need to be protected as well, as they too are humans. I shall put forth my arguments in this essay. To commence with, celebrities are already under a lot of pressure to perform well, as they are public figures and are always in the public eye. Be it a politician, a sportsperson, a singer or an actor, all these professions require them to be at their best at all times. This stress of someone constantly following them affects the way they perform, which ultimately leads to a loss for the masses. Secondly, these celebs are role models for the people. When any negative side of their private life is exposed, their followers think it glamorous to do the same, which is definitely detrimental for the society as a whole. For example, if people come to know that the celeb they adore, smokes and drinks in private life, they think there is nothing wrong in doing so and also copy their idol. This is where responsible journalism is needed. Undoubtedly, the celebrities choose this life for the name and fame and to be in the spotlight. Without the media, the term celebrity will not hold any meaning. However, that doesn’t mean that the media and paparazzi have a right to stalk them at all times. To add to it, sensationalizing the news in order for the channel to get more TRP is unethical. Responsible journalism and some ethics need to be followed by those who get the news to the masses, as they may adversely affect someone’s personal and professional lives. Who doesn’t remember the unfortunate incident when the world lost a very eminent public figure, Lady Diana? That accident happened because the paparazzi were chasing the car she was travelling in. It is something which could have been easily avoided, had the paparazzi been a little rational in their behavior. To sum up, it can be reiterated that responsible journalism means knowing its limits. Celebs too have their private lives and they have a right to privacy. The media has to be judicious in knowing what to report and how much to report, and should never misuse its power.