In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message? Discuss both sides

Numerous sayings are popular in various customs. In such way, children are advised in some traditions that if they strive, anything can be accomplished. By conveying this kind of message, children will both be benefitted and also be affected in a number of ways. This essay will discuss both the merits and demerits. Enormous benefits can be obtained from this saying. One such advantage is, boosting self-confidence among the children. In other words, if they develop the mindset that they can succeed when utmost effort is given, it will help them to approach everything confidently. Thus, inducing the confidence, youngsters will perform better, which eventually leads to success. Another benefit might be, enhancing their ability to endeavor. This can be proven by psychological evidence that by knowing the secret to achieve, people tend to incorporate that strategy. Therefore, with the message provided, even the children, who are hesitating to give a try, will come forward to commence the work. On the other hand, there are considerable drawbacks too. Primary disadvantage would be, developing over-confidence that paves the way to devastating consequences. Though the content in the message is true, it will not be suitable for every individual. For instance, a child who is dumb by birth wants to sing professionally after hearing this saying, knowing the fact that this child cannot even speak, it not only misled the child but also can affect the self-esteem. Another impact is, risk of misunderstanding that success can be attained with mere hard work. Striving is one of the vital aspects to reach a goal; however, all other factors such as smart work, talent are all essential. In conclusion, considering both sides, encouraging the young people and advising them can help leading a better life in the future. Although there are chances of misinterpretation, proper guidance with clear explanation will benefit the children.