In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In many societies, children are taught to work hard in order to accomplish their goals. This notion can motivate and teach children to become independent, however, drawbacks like disappointment if not succeeding and wasting special years can occur. Youngsters require motivation in order to make decisions and encouragement from their parents or others in society can be beneficial. If young minds, that love how the human body works, are taught to persevere, then they will become successful doctors. This example can show us that, regardless of how hard something is to obtain, it can always be done if we have the motives to do so. Furthermore, young people will become more independent as the years pass, requiring no assistance from others. In other words, depending on oneself is achieved through the hardships of the journey that has to be taken in order to reach certain goals. On the other hand, this type of encouragement can lead to disappointment, as the children are given high hopes for their future. Working day and night to acquire experience needed to be admitted in a medical residency program, for example, to only be rejected at the end can lead to a major let down and significant depressive episodes. Likewise, children and teenagers will not live their early years fully because they will be preoccupied with focusing on one aspect of their life to get to something else. This will lose precious time that can be otherwise used to have fun and be young. Thus, giving advice to children should be with caution. In conclusion, even though the idea, that children can do anything as long as they work hard, will motivate them to persevere and teach them independence, it will also result in a stressful lifestyle as well as an unenjoyable early life.