In some countries, young people have become richer, healthier, and live longer, but they are less happy. What are the causes and what can be done to address this problem.

Although the mass media has convinced many individuals that wealth leads to happiness, that’s not always the case. With the development of modern society, the young generation in many countries has been living in much better-off living conditions than ever before. However, those youngsters are lacking happiness. There is one principal reason why they are less happy and one potential solution to tackle this issue. The most important cause is that numerous youngsters can not strike the balance between work and life. In today’s society, lots of individuals are burnt out on their jobs because of having to work long hours at demanding jobs. The issue here is that while work does provide life satisfaction, working insanely long hours prevents us from relaxing and enjoying life, which soon makes them depressed. Plus, higher-paying jobs and promotions usually come with more responsibility and stress. As a result, individuals will need to focus on working and spend less time with their families. Without frequent face-to-face conversations and emotional communication, youngsters will feel alone, be isolated from their families, and less happy than before. Being confronted with these problems, some measures and actions should be taken into consideration. First and foremost, youngsters should balance time for working and relaxing. They should take a holiday after a period of hard-working to refresh their mind and after that, they can work more effectively. Additionally, the young generation should also invest more time in staying with their families and friends. In doing so, they can share daily problems with their lovers and have more support for success in life. This is indeed a wonderful solution which not only can efficiently strengthen the bond of the family but also can develop the harmony of the entire family. In conclusion, there is one main reason why youngsters of today are not as happy as their counterparts of the past, although their living conditions have improved considerably. Fortunately, by taking simple steps to balance work and life, young people can eventually improve their happiness.