In some countries, young people do not take care of their elderly relatives. Instead, they appoint trained professionals who take care of the elderly. Is it a positive or a negative trend according to you?

There is a huge population of senior citizens who are being driven to old age homes and medical facilities. This trend has become prevalent today and youngsters are unwilling to care for their old parents and rather prefer to send them to specialists who take care of them. I will be discussing both sides of the argument and share my opinion in this essay. There are many facilities who take great care of senior citizens. They usually have trained staff to attend to all the necessities needed by elderly people. For instance, they tend to have medical problems and issues with mobility, they might also require medication and specific diet to maintain their health, and these obligations are taken care by the nurses present in the hospital. This level of support might be impossible to be given by youngsters who do not possess these skills. On the other hand, it is the responsibility of the children to care for their parents in their golden years, as they did for them in their childhood. The care and time youngsters spend with their parents usually acts as medicine and provide immense moral support. For example, in a study published by the University of Hyderabad, it was proven that the life expectancy of older patients grew by 10% when they reside with their relatives. This clearly explains that care given at home is a lot better than the hi-tech health clubs. To conclude, it may seem that senior citizens are receiving better care and support in medical institutions, however, the love and care given by their beloved is considerably more powerful and efficient.